| MediCare Pharmacy

Managing Director Michael Guerin awarded Fellowship

Managing Director of MediCare Pharmacy Group, Michael Guerin, was awarded Fellowship of Pharmaceutical Society of Northern Ireland after 37 years of service to the profession at an award ceremony and reception hosted by the leadership body Pharmacy Forum NI at Belfast City Hall on Thursday 8th February 2024.

A Fellowship recognises individuals who have exhibited strong leadership and distinction in the pharmacy profession, science or practice and have promoted the profession to an exceptional degree or have rendered outstanding service to the community at large.

It is the highest honour that can be bestowed upon a registered pharmacist in Northern Ireland. It recognises those individuals who have attained distinction in a particular aspect or aspects of their career.

As Fellowships are based on nominations from members of the profession in NI, it also signifies the esteem in which a nominee is held by his or her peers.

The new Health Minister Robin Swann was in attendance at one of his first functions since being reappointed as Minister with words of congratulations and gratitude to the newly appointed Fellowes for their contribution to the pharmacy profession and public service.

There are currently 20 Fellows of the Pharmaceutical Society NI, including the recently appointed cohort, who are drawn from across the profession and represent a variety of sectors and career stages.




From left to right: newly conferred Fellow, Michael Guerin, founder and Director of MediCare Pharmacy Group; Julie Greenfield, Manager of Pharmacy Forum NI; Professor Cathy Harrison, Chief Pharmaceutical Officer for Northern Ireland; Robin Swann MLA, Minister for Health; Sheelin McKeagney, Chair of Pharmacy Forum NI Board; Dr Geraldine O’Hare, President of the Pharmaceutical Society NI; newly conferred Fellow, Dr Brenda Bradley, Pharmacy Lead at HSCNI; newly conferred Fellow, Professor Roisín O’Hare, Teacher Practitioner Team Leader at Queens University Belfast; Michaela McAleer, CEO of the Pharmaceutical Society NI.